Quick Answer: What Is A Moderate Risk Position?

What are the 5 levels of security clearance?

National Security Clearances are a hierarchy of five levels, depending on the classification of materials that can be accessed—Baseline Personnel Security Standard (BPSS), Counter-Terrorist Check (CTC), Enhanced Baseline Standard (EBS), Security Check (SC) and Developed Vetting (DV)..

What is the difference between sf85 and sf86?

The SF-85 is used for public trust or lower-risk positions. The SF-86 is used for all security clearance determinations, including Secret and Top Secret clearances.

Can I get a public trust clearance with bad credit?

There is Low Risk , Moderate Risk, and High Risk public trust. If yours is low risk, all that is checked is police records, public records. They wont even pull credit. The form you will fill out is the SF-85.

What is a moderate risk clearance?

Moderate risk public trust positions are designated for those positions with potentially moderate to serious impact on the organization or mission. High risk public trust positions are for positions with exceptionally serious impact on the integrity or efficiency of the mission.

What is position sensitivity?

Position sensitivity determines the type of security investigation required before individuals can be assigned to sensitive positions and granted the applicable clearance level (e.g., SECRET, TOP SECRET, etc.). … Security investigations for sensitive positions often take up to a year to complete and are quite costly.

What disqualifies you from public trust clearance?

Conditions that could raise a security concern and may be disqualifying include: Sexual behavior of a criminal nature, whether or not the individual has been prosecuted; … Sexual behavior of a public nature and/or which reflects lack of discretion or judgment.

What disqualifies you from a government job?

Certain crimes may disqualify you from some types of work. Another factor that will likely be considered for federal employment is your credit history. … If you have a history of unpaid debts and even bankruptcy, it could disqualify you from some federal employment positions.

What is a moderate background investigation?

MBI (Moderate Risk Background Investigation)—This investigation is composed of a NACLC plus an Enhanced Subject Interview (ESI) and written inquires to employers, schools, and references for past 5 years. … It is the same as an SSBI-PR minus the interviews of social references and neighborhood references.

What is a critical sensitive position?

Sensitivity Level = Non-Sensitive (no clearance needed) Non-Critical Sensitive (needs eligibility for access to Secret) Critical Sensitive (needs eligibility for access to Top Secret) Special Sensitive (needs Top Secret clearance with eligibility for SCI access)

What can make you fail a security clearance?

You may be denied security clearance for any number of reasons, including drug involvement, financial debt or affluence (being overly acquisitive), gambling addiction, undue foreign influence, reckless sexual behavior, technology misuse, or other behavior the government deems as a risk to national security.

Which position designation is a Tier 3 background investigation conducted?

Tier 3 – high-risk positions, critical sensitive positions, special sensitive positions, and positions requiring access to Top Secret, DOE “Q,” and Sensitive Compartmented Information. eApplication.

Will bad credit affect my security clearance?

Imperfect financial circumstances, such as bad credit scores, can have a negative influence on your application and potentially cause your security clearance to be denied. However, the dollar amount associated with your financial troubles is usually less important than the reasons behind your financial situation.

What are the sensitivity levels for civilian positions?

OPM defines the four civilian position sensitivity levels as special-sensitive, critical-sensitive, noncritical-sensitive, and nonsensitive. When there is a mix of duties, the highest level of duty determines the sensitivity.

What is non critical sensitive?

For example, a non-sensitive position has no impact on the national security. … A noncritical sensitive position has the potential to cause significant or serious damage to the national security. A critical sensitive position has the potential to cause exceptionally grave damage to the national security.

What is included in a Tier 1 background check?

Tier 1 is the investigation for positions designated as low-risk, non-sensitive. It is also the minimum level of investigation for a final credentialing determination for physical and logical access.